In my past post I named the 7 men who signed the signed the Proclamation of the Irish Republic and who were executed for their roles in the 1916 rising.

The following men did not sign the Proclamation but were also executed:

Executed Name Place of Birth Year of Birth
4th May 1916 Edward Daly Limerick 1891
4th May 1916 Michael O’Hanrahan Wexford 1877
4th May 1916 William Pearse Dublin 1881
5th May 1916 John MacBride Mayo 1865
8th May 1916 Con Colbert Limerick 1888
8th May 1916 Michael Mallin Dublin 1874
8th May 1916 Seán Heuston Dublin 1891
9th May 1916 Thomas Kent Castlelyons, Co. Cork 1865
3rd August 1916 Roger Casement Dublin 1864

All of these men were executed in Kilmainham Gaol with the exception of Thomas Kent (killed in Cork Detention Barracks) and Roger Casement (killed in Pentonville Gaol in London). The picture below shows president Michael D. Higgins laying a wreath in the Stonebreakers’ Yard last Sunday to commemorate the centenary of the Rising.